Dear Honorable Members of the Washington State Legislature,

We call on the Washington State Legislature to pass E2SSB 5126, "The Climate Commitment Act," as it passed the House Appropriations Committee, and establish a comprehensive climate change mitigation policy for Washington State.

The version of E2SB 5126 that the State Senate passed was an important starting point. We appreciate that House policy and fiscal committees have adopted the priorities of Tribal Nations, environmentalists, and communities of color, and amended E2SSB 5126 to help it become a meaningful first step in achieving an effective, equitable, and comprehensive climate change strategy.

Climate change affects all of us. Whether it's sea level rise, wildfire, smoke, ocean acidification, pollution, extreme weather, the collapse of natural resource businesses, or the extinction of irreplaceable food sources, the impacts of climate change are already here and cannot be ignored. We are calling on you to take urgent and decisive action this session to confront this crisis.

No single bill will be sufficient to confront the enormous challenge of climate change or address its countless causes and impacts. It is possible the bill may change again before it is passed; please keep us engaged and informed, so we can offer consideration. We see E2SSB 5126 as the foundation that all of Washington's communities will build upon — working together to implement, review, strengthen, and fine-tune this legislation as it takes effect. But we must start now or risk irreparable harm to this great state in which we live.

Climate change is already a life-or-death threat to communities across Washington State, and we are calling on the Legislature to respond this week. We, the undersigned, are calling on you to pass E2SSB 5126 this session and put Washington on a path forward to protect our people, our businesses, our resources and our natural environment.

Sincerely,

Guy Capoeman President Quinault Indian Nation	Fawn Sharp Vice President Quinault Indian Nation President of National Congress of American Indians	Leonard Forsman Chairman Suquamish Indian Tribe
Ron Allen	Robert de los Angeles	Frances Charles
Chairman	Chairman	Chairwoman
Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe	Snoqualmie Indian Tribe	Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe
Delano Saluskin Chairman Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation	Kris Peters Chairman Squaxin Island Tribe	Bill Sterud Chairman Puyallup Tribe of Indians
Teri Gobin	Ken Choke	Ross Cline Sr.
Chairwoman	Chairman	Chairman
Tulalip Tribes	Nisqually Indian Tribe	Nooksack Indian Tribe

Jaison Elkins

Chairman

Muckleshoot Indian Tribe

Carol Evans

Chairwoman

Spokane Tribe of Indians

Philip Harju

Chairman

Cowlitz Indian Tribe

Nino Maltos

Chairman

Sauk-Suiattle Tribe

Henry Pickernell

Chairman

Chehalis Indian Tribe

Mike Kreidler

WA Insurance Commissioner

Bob Ferguson

Estela Ortega

Executive Director

El Centro de la Raza

WA Attorney General

Paula Sardinas

Chief Advocate

WA Build Back Black Alliance

Sakara Remmu

Founder

WA Black Lives Matter Alliance

Alyssa Macy

CEO

WA Conservation Voters
WA Environmental Council

Vlad Guttman

Washington Director Climate Solutions

Mike Stevens

Washington Director
The Nature Conservancy

Janice Kutzera

President

Washington State PTA

Michelle Connor

CEO Forterra Deborah B Jensen, PhD

Vice President and Executive

Director

Audubon Washington

Diane Sosne and Jane Hopkins,

RNs and President and Executive Vice President

Legislative Director SEIU 1199NW

Karen Hart

President SEIU 925 **Sterling Harders**

President SEIU 775

Matthew Hepner

Executive Director

Certified Electrical Workers of

Washington (IBEW)

Sandra Toussaint

Washington Federation of State Employees/AFSCME Council 28 **Ronan Houston**

Director of Legislative Affairs Associated Students of UW

Tacoma

Matt Remle

Co-Founder

Mazaska Talks

Katelyn Roedner Sutter

Senior Manager, U.S. Climate Environmental Defense Fund

Mitch Friedman

Executive Director

Conservation Northwest

Chaune Fitzgerald

Executive Director WOW Tri-Cities

Will Hausa

President/CEO Waterversity

Dr. David Hirschberg

Founder, CEO RAIN Incubator